Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
If you file your return electronically your refund will typically be issued in about one week. If you file your tax return on paper your refund will typically be issued in about four weeks from the date it is received.
Show All Answers
For Calendar Year Filers the due date for your Virginia Income Tax Return is May 1. If the due date falls on Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you may file your return on the next business day. The United States Postal Service postmark is used to verify the date your return is mailed. If you are a fiscal year filer, your return is due the 15th day of the fourth month, following the close of the fiscal year. See Instruction Booklet Page 3 for more information on Fiscal Year Filers.
For the tax year 2018 you must file if you: are single and your Virginia Adjusted Gross Income is $11,950 or more, married filing jointly and your Virginia Adjusted Gross Income is $23,900 or more, or if you are married filing separate and your Virginia Adjusted Gross Income is $11,950 or more. Complete Form 760, Line 1 through Line 9 to determine your Virginia Adjusted Gross Income.
You may electronically file or use paper forms to file your State Income Tax Return. There are three e-File options to choose from - Virginia Free File, Paid e-File and, new this year, Virginia Free File fillable forms. Please visit the Virginia Tax website to find our more about these programs.
If you wish to file paper returns you may refer to the back cover of the 760 Instruction booklet to find the address to mail a paper return. The fastest way to file is electronically. If you file online please do not send a paper copy of your return.
At the filing website you may check the status of your refund even if you did not file using online filing. You may use your touch tone phone to call Tele-tax at 804-367-2486 for the automated refund tax service, or you may call the Gloucester County Commissioner of Revenue's Office at 804-693-3451.
Generally, you will need to file the Virginia part-year resident form, Form 760PY. See Page 5 of the 760 Instruction booklet for more information.
You may download forms from the Virginia Department of Taxation's website. You can request forms and instructions from the Virginia Department of Taxation's Forms Department by calling 804-440-2541. The Department of Taxation will no longer send forms to this office for distribution. For Customer Service call 804-367-8031.
You can obtain Federal Tax forms from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) website. IRS will no longer send forms to this office for distribution. The only way to obtain a form will be to call and request the form directly from the IRS or to visit their website. For Forms and publications call 800-829-3676. For tax assistance call 800-829-1040.
No, there is no penalty assessed if you are due a refund, even if you file your return after the due date. However, you must file a return within three years of the original due date in order to claim your refund.
If your Virginia income tax liability, after subtracting income tax withheld and any allowable credits, is expected to be more than $150, then you must make estimated tax payments on Form 760ES (or have additional income tax withheld throughout the year from your wages or other income). For more information, see Form 760ES. You are not required to file Form 760ES if : you are single and your expected Virginia adjusted gross income is less than $11,950; you are married and your combined expected Virginia adjusted gross income is less than $23,900; or you are married, filing separately, and your separate expected Virginia adjusted gross income is less than $11,950. See the Estimated Income Tax Worksheet on page 3 of Form 760ES.
Due dates for 2019 Virginia Estimated Tax are:
If the due date falls on Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday you may file your voucher on the next business day.